Housing situation in the Shetlands

Hi there

I've been dipping in and out of this website for a good year or so now as my family and I are at some point wanting to relocate up there. My husband is a IT/governance/assurance/technical consultant and I'm a photographer, so we will be moving businesses up there as well as our family.

The thing stopping us at present is the housing situation. We are not in a position to buy yet (ideally we'd want to acquire a small plot and build a low level modest Scandinavian-type house in due course) but the rental situation seems dire from where I'm looking.

The estate agents on the isle seem to have very few rental properties about and those that are available tend to preclude pets or not have the 4 bedrooms we would need. Being a family with three growing kids, we do have pets. Very well behaved ones at that. It seems frustrating that there is an apparent lack of housing to help sustain a willing influx of newcomers who want to set up their businesses there and help give something to the communities on the islands.

Anyone have any ideas as to how I may find out more about the housing situation, in particular renting. Is there a "word of mouth" scenario in the localities where its not what you know, but who you know? Any help would be greatly appreciated as my family and I are sincere and honest about moving to the gorgeous isle.

Thanks, Lynda :)

• Replies 38
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Guest CyprusPluto

Rental properties aren't that difficult to come by. When I moved up here 3 years ago I personally put an add in the Shetland Times and got about 15 responses back. However, they do disappear quickly and are expensive in and around Lerwick. If you can move further afield they will be cheaper. Pets can be a problem though as many rental properties will exclude them.