TV

AlMac

I seem to have lost my TV reception. I have a Satbox and am wondering if it is a problem with my own equipment (ie Satbox or sat dish) or if it is a general problem with satellite reception in Shetland? Otherwise, does anybody know who I could call to repair it? I am quite new to Shetland and a bit out of touch with everything!

If it's a sat box with card, remove card, switch off it mains as wheelsup says, but leave it off for at least a minute, switch it back on and insert card, then go and have a cuppa as it can take a bit to reboot.

This has worked for me in the past.

If that doesn't work, you could try Islesat for further advice.

• 3 months later...

slightly off subject islesat has been taken over by someone new, i cant afford a galvanised dish as i havent got £200+ to splash out, i called islesat and told him of my situation. To my surprise he offered me a galvanised dish and bracket and fitted it for me for £10:00 a month  i signed a contract for 2 yrs but i will carry on paying him after so my dish will always be serviced, so in short islesat is doing rent a dish for all of those who cannot afford a big payout 

slightly off subject islesat has been taken over by someone new, i cant afford a galvanised dish as i havent got £200+ to splash out, i called islesat and told him of my situation. To my surprise he offered me a galvanised dish and bracket and fitted it for me for £10:00 a month  i signed a contract for 2 yrs but i will carry on paying him after so my dish will always be serviced, so in short islesat is doing rent a dish for all of those who cannot afford a big payout 

At 5.23pm, 17 minutes after this post, nowtsed started "Rent a galvanised dish" under Science & Technology, and he asked, "Can anyone tell me if its true? that islesat is now renting galvanised dishes ?

i heard you can pay £10:00 a month and he installs decent dish etc"

That smells of something, not sure what but it smells!!!