Shetland Coastguard Service

Stevo

I appreciate that the Shetland branch of the Coastguard has been saved, after recent proposals to close (modernize) it. However there is something that has been annoying me the last few days.

In last Friday's Shetland Times, there was 4 jobs advertised for Coastguards working out of Lerwick, which is all fine and well. Coming from a shipping background, i think its excellent that there will be local folk in the station, if anything it will be good to hear a Shetland voice on the radio, but as I studied the advert closer I noticed the Starting pay is £16823 rising to a maximum of £18413. Which isn't the best to be honest. For the responsibility of providing a life saving service, why is the wage so low?

The advert states the post holder will be responsible for taking 999 calls.

But WHAT really annoyed me was on the other page there was a job advertised for an "Administration Assistant" who's responsibility included filing, and meeting and greeting customers. For a respectable wage of £21610.

Which angers me. The people who are protecting our lives/seas are paid at basically the minimum wage. They are being taken for a ride in my opinion. Is the cheap wages to compensate for the massive waste of money on the consultation for the coastguard and the bosses various trips around the country to sell their case?

Isn't this wrong or is this just me being a cynical grumpy old man..?

My girlfriends father works for the coastguard and they didn't even know about these positions opening. Literally no word was given to them.

Trust me, they're as annoyed as you are.

Why are they annoyed? With regards to the pathetic pay being offered or the fact no one told them about the new jobs?

I have further communications from Mike Penning. I initially wrote to my MP to make my point and that I had been involved with the campaign in Shetland and my opinion on the wider cuts. She wrote back 3-4 months later and after the 2nd deadline.